Sunday, 30 June 2013

BONDAX

Friday, 28 June 2013

AU REVOIR SIMONE

Thursday, 27 June 2013

DUCKTAILS

Tuesday, 25 June 2013

WASHED OUT

DELOREAN

Monday, 24 June 2013

T.WILLIAMS

Thursday, 20 June 2013

NOTHANKYOU

Wednesday, 19 June 2013

STAR SLINGER / MIGUEL

SUMMER CAMP

Tuesday, 18 June 2013

TV GIRL

VOLCANO CHOIR

Friday, 14 June 2013

TODD TERJE

Thursday, 13 June 2013

UNKNOWN MORTAL ORCHESTRA

WOMAN'S HOUR


Enchanting vocals by Fiona Burgess create an incredibly assured sound from a relatively young band. 2011 gave us tracks such as 'Jenni' and 'Human', but Woman's Hour got introspective and have now returned with a more seamless, essential sound. Most recent tracks; 'Our Love Has No Rythm' is a beautifully stirring song with a wonderful layered arrangement, complemented by soaring vocals. 'To the End' manages to be simultaneously delicate but weighted, the use of texture really being shown off here. Expecting big things from this band, incredibly talented. Fantastic videos too.

First off, where are you in the world right now and what've you been working on?
Right now I am at our rehearsal space which is an old warehouse next to London Fields. It's a beautiful old Victorian building tucked away behind some houses. We are working on some new songs.

Could you give a brief history of Woman's Hour so far?
We've been together for a couple of years. We started with Fiona, Nick and myself quite aimlessly then Josh came on board and I think we all just enjoyed it so much that we wanted to do it more and more. So we did.

Who did you grow up listening to?
I suppose for me my first musical memories are from my parents records. Simon & Garfunkel, Crosby, Stills & Nash and Led Zeppelin where probably the best. Then the music that was on the radio at the time I suppose, Blur and Pulp were two of my favourites at the time. I was very young then. Interpol's first record was an important one for me at the time I seem to remember. Then I got into some 'weirder' things.

What would you say is the perfect environment or situation to listen to your music in?
On the top of Helvellyn after scrambling up Striding Edge. Or in a bubble bath with a delicious glass of champagne.

What's the strangest subject that's ever influenced a track?
That would be telling.

What other artists are you into at the moment?
Love the new Kurt Vile record and I think I read somewhere that the War on Drugs are recording a new one so that will be interesting after the resounding success of their last effort. Also the Hookworms one, that's great turned up loud. Instrumental Tourist by Tim Hecker & Dan Lopatin has been on repeat for a while as well.

Where would you love to tour?
Everywhere!

Finally, what's next for you, future plans and such?
Finish up some writing and start some more recording...

SOUNDCLOUD
FACEBOOK
TWITTER


Wednesday, 12 June 2013

MOUNT KIMBIE

Tuesday, 11 June 2013

SPECTRALS

Sunday, 9 June 2013

FRENCH FOR RABBITS

Thursday, 6 June 2013

THE XX

Wednesday, 5 June 2013

BIBIO

CHARLES BRADLEY


Dammmn

Tuesday, 4 June 2013

GIRAFFAGE

Monday, 3 June 2013

GOLD PANDA

Gold Panda: My Father in Hong Kong 1961 on Nowness.com.

VAMPIRE WEEKEND


Lotsa peeps in this.